Religious infiltration of Legislation in Sri Lanka

It would be interesting to find out, to what extend and how, Sri Lankan citizens’ public taxpayer money is misused on religious agenda.  Religiously divided, ethnically segregated racist nationalist groups successfully pursue our elected politicians of all political parties to win and control public tax payer funds for their religious faiths, beliefs and racist agenda.  Both the government and opposition subscribed and submitted to their unethical demands to gain political power since independence. 

Sri Lanka must develop an architecture for governance where  politicians can not promote religion in policy making.  Legislation shall be independent of petty divisions in religion, race and ethnicity if we are to establish a fair government for the people, by the people.  Development of one nation, one citizenship requires a broader vision beyond the patchwork we have seen since independence.   A clear demarcation of religion and governance through a 'separation wall' is required that would establish a Secular Constitution in our nation.


Here is a list of some unacceptable religiously motivated legislation brought by your elected lawmakers, the politicians you and I voted who are both in the government and opposition parties, they brought many ridiculous legislation to our nation, dividing people along petty irrational faith based differences.   Let's take a look at how elected lawmakers who are expected to represent all citizens make laughable legislation that benefit only selected religious groups.


Constitution of Sri Lanka



9. The Republic of Sri Lanka shall give to Buddhism the foremost place and accordingly it shall be the duty of the State to protect and foster the Buddha Sasana, while assuring to all religions the rights granted by Articles 10 and 14(1)(e).

Administrative / Public Law

Aiyenayaka Devala Development Act 2003
Anuradhapura Jaya Sri maha bodhi Development Fund (Incorporation) Act 2006
Board of Trustees of the Bhagawan Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust of Sri Lanka (Incorporation) Act 2007
Calvary Church of Sri Lanka Act 1999
Central Ceylon Muslim Ladeis' Union (Incorporation) Act 2007
Dharmayathana Conservation Society (Incorporation) Act 2006
Indian Origin Act 2003
Internationl Buddhist Research & Development Centre (Incorporation) Act 2007
Lanka Jathika Sarvodaya Shramadana Sangamaya (Incorporation) Act 1999
Markez Islamic Centre (Incorporation) Act 1999
Nawalapitiya Dharul Uloom Al Hashimiya Arabic College (Incorporation) Act 2006
Palaka Sabhawa of Beruwala Malewana Sri Gnanissara Ayurvedic Medical College (Incorporation) Act 1999
Rambukwella Sri Vipassi Development Foundation (Incorporation) Act 2007
Ratnapura Marapana Sastrodaya Foundation (Incorporation) Act 2007
Sarana Buddhist (Relief) Foundation (Incorporation) Act 2007
Sareeram Sri Lanka National Foundation (Incorporation) Act 1999
Seethawaka Maniyangana Rajamaha Viharastha Sanwardhana Sabhawa Act 2007
Sri Lanka Buddhist Vihara Devala Foundation (Incorporation) Act 2007
Sri Sarananda Development Foundation (Incoporation) Act 2007
Kandyan Law
Kandyan Marriage and Divorce (Amendment) Act 2006
Marriage and Divorce (Kandyan) Act
Marriage and Divorce (Muslim) Act
Muslim Marriage and Divorce (Amendment) Act 2006
Ministry Of Christian Affairs Sri Lanka