Newswire‎ > ‎

8th World Atheist Conference

posted Nov 22, 2010, 6:37 AM by Hw W

Source/Author: Gora Vikas | Posted on: July 12th, 2010

January 7-9, 2011 (Friday-Sunday)

at Tiruchirapalli , Tamilnad


We are happy to inform that VIII World Atheist Conference is jointly convened by Dravidar Kazhagam, Atheist Centre and The Rationalists’ Forum on 7,8 & 9 January 2011, in Tiruchirapalli,  (Trichy), a city centrally located in Tamil Nadu which is well connected by road, railway and air. The conference is being conducted by the movements founded by great atheists, social reformers and humanists - Periyar E.V.Ramasami (1879-1973) and Gora (1902- 1975).

Already we have received positive responses of participation from many from abroad including  Levi Fragell, former President, IHEU, Norway, Roy Brown, former President, IHEU, (Switzerland), Kristin-Mile, Secretary General, Norwegian Humanist Association, Pekka Elo, Finland Humanist Association. From India, Prof. P.M. Bhargava, former Vice-Chairman, National Knowledge Commission of Govt. of India; Dr. Samaram, National President, Indian Medical Association; Lavanam, President, Samskar; Prof. Ramachandran, Vice Chancellor, Periyar Maniammai University; Prof. B.Pb. Parikh, Ex-VC, South Gujarat University, Baroda, Babu Gogineni, Executive Director, IHEU; Dr. Innaiah, Director, Center for Inquiry; Prof. Narendra Nayak, President, Federation of Indian Atheist and Rationalist Associations; Prof. Dhaneswar Sahoo, Bhubaneswar; U. Kalanathan, Ex.  Gen. Secretary, FIRA;  K.G. Rao, General Secretary, FIRA, Goa; Ch. Vidya, Ex-MP Dr. Chandana Chakravarthy, J. Mythri, Chair person, Atheist Centre, and many others will be participating in the World Conference. Please plan from now on to come and participate  in this important international event.

The Registration Fee for a delegate is Rs. 400. It may be remitted through a Crossed Demand Draft  on any bank favouring “Dravidar Kazhagam” payable at Chennai. For details:

Co-ordinator, VIII World Atheist Conference

84/1 (50), E.V.K.Sampath Road, Vepery, Chennai – 600 007

e-mail -

Fax: 044 2661 8866

Conveners of the Conference:

Dr. K. Veeramani, President, Dravidar Kazhagam, Periyar Thidal, 50 E.V.K.Sampath Road,

Vepery, Chennai – 600 007 &

Dr. G. Vijayam, Executive Director, Atheist Centre,

Benz Circle, Vijayawada 520010  email: